10+1 Things We Are Not Going to Use Again!

We live in a world that the technology gets ahead with fast rate. If someone, had told to your great grandparents, that one day we would have been able to communicate with all the people around the world so easy, would they have believed that? I suppose no! There are a lot of things, that they couldn’t have believed, that one day could happen. What about the mobile phones? Oh, my grandmother (I still have two) even now she cannot believe that I have a mobile phone from where I can speak with other people from any place, or that I can find out how the weather will be on weekends, or that it can remind me an appointment to the doctor or……., or……., or………! There are so many things that she cannot understand. And she is not the only one!

The life seems to be so easy today according to the past. There are plenty of easements that have simplified our life. The new generation of smart products and useful services has entered in our life and has been integral pieces of our daily routine. Today I am going to travel you back to the past. I am glad to show you some things from the past and how people and industries have replaced them today. I am sure that some of you will say: “Oh, do you remember that? I have seen it once!”  These are some things that our great grandparents were using at the old times, and there is no possibility to use them again! Enjoy them and look back on the past!!!

past

future

I will start with the telephone! Yes, this was the only way to communicate with other people in those days. I don’t know how they used it but they did. Yesterday, when I was doing my survey of products and I saw this telephone I called my husband to show it to him and he told me that they still use this kind of telephone in the military! He has ended with his military service about fifteen years ago and I can’t tell you for sure, if they still use it.

past

future

Oh, my God! I have seen one coal iron in my grandmother’s home but I didn’t dare even to tough it. I cannot imagine how they could iron so many clothes with this heavy thing. And now, that we have Juro Pro we still complain about ironing. It is good to remember this just to be grateful of what we have today!!!

past

future

This trough, is to remember also the way that they used to wash their clothes. And if you think that the families back then, they were counting more than three children for each house, can you imagine how many clothes and sheets they had to wash and iron? Today we have two children and all the time we say: “You get dirty again? Do you think that I have time to wash and iron all the time?” At least this is what I’m saying to my children.

past

future

Well, I am not so young to not remember this kind of music system. My parents have made a lot of shindings with this. Those days, people didn’t have the possibility to go in a place with live music for entertaining but they really had the mood to do it at their homes. At least this is what I remember from my parents. Every year, in my father’s name celebration, all the family, aunts-uncles-cousins-grandparents, were meeting in our home, eating and dancing. My mother still have some photos of these kind of events and I really miss that. Unfortunately I don’t have such memories to offer to my children! But I have a Juro Pro…….!

past

future

I suppose that you could imagine what the next thing would be according to the previous music system. Exactly! This is the new way of keeping our favorite songs. We just save them in our USB stick or on a CD and we can hear them even in our car anytime we want. What a progress eh?

past

future

I have used also this old typewriter. I was about 10 years old,  if I remember right, and I was very excited with the “tak-tak” noise of the keys.  I liked also the way that I could change the line. It was a period that my mother was sick and she had to leave the town for a few days, so I had to stay with my aunt. My aunt was working in a dentist office and she had to take me with her every morning. They had a typewriter like that one in the office so, for not to get bored by the time of leaving she was giving me a piece of paper and I was starting writing. I remember that as if it was yesterday! These were the most exciting days of my life, if you leave out the case of my mother’s sickness.

past

future

I had such a camera. To be honest, because I love photos, I have seen all the progress of the cameras and I have used different models from that period since today. I used to love that “klak”, when I had to prepare the camera for the next photo. I am not so young finally!!!

past

future

My grandfather had one like that and when I got married I took it, to use it as an antique piece for the decoration of my house. Of course, it didn’t work anymore so I didn’t know how to use it. Unfortunately one year ago my grandma asked me to give it back because she wanted to keep it with all the personal things of my grandfather, that he is not alive anymore, as a memory of him. I gave it back. In nowadays there are plenty of video camera models but we are used to take our favorite videos using only our mobile’s camera. Mobiles can do everything today, don’t they?

past

future

I think my parents have had a monochrome TV but I don’t remember it because they change it some years after my birth. It’s amazing with these enormous buttons and the long antenna at the back. To tell you the truth I prefer the plasma, don’t you?

past

future

Oh, mama mia! My favorite walkman! It was red! Do you remember these walkmans? They are not so old time but our children are not going to meet them again unless someone have kept one. The most annoying was the cassette because I couldn’t delete the song that I was bored to hear so I had to rec  a new one, unlike the contemporary mp4 that you can add and delete any song at any time as many times as you like. I miss that because it was a present of my father!

loom

I left this grand loom for the end. I couldn’t find something similar that it could have taken its position today. I have seen one, when I went for an educational excursion with my school in a traditional village. I was very young and I don’t remember the name of the village but I still remember the woman that was there to show us how it worked. How easy it was for her! I think that they still exist looms somewhere but the production of them has stopped a lot of years ago. My grandmother had a loom and I have a lot of wefts that she had woven for my dowry and I keep them as a treasure for my kids too. It is great to have something to remind you the past and your favorite people. I will look to show them to you in a future post of mine.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and that maybe I made you to look back on the past to find any kind of these old memories. Have you kept any of these old items as a memory from the old times? Have you ever used any of these? Please feel free to share with me any of your memory or a personal experience from the past.


2 thoughts on “10+1 Things We Are Not Going to Use Again!

Leave a comment